## Professor Frank Billson Platinum Honour Award

Professor Frank Billson, Foundation Professor of Ophthalmology since 1978, has been Director of the Save Sight Institute, University of Sydney since 1985.

As foundation Director of the Save Sight Institute, he was responsible for the formation of fundraising for the commissioning of a laboratory and recruiting over 50 scientists and support staff for this facility. The Institute has a tracted extensive research grants from the Lions NSW—ACT Save Sight Foundation and national and international sourcesincluding government, industry, and support from the community. A new laboratory was commissioned in 1997 which is amongst the most modern and best equipped in Australia.

He is the Director of the Lions NSW Eye Bank and a member of the staff of the Sydney Eye Hospital and both children's hospitals in NSW. He is Hospitaller for Australia serving the Order of St John and the Jerusalem Eye Hospital and has been instrumental in the establishment of outreach programs with St John Ambulance Australia, working with Aboriginal communities in Katherine NT and Dubbo NSW.

His enthusiasm and leadership are seen in his international commitments to the World Health Organisation and the International Agency for the Prevention of Blindness, where he was the first Chairman of the West Pacific Region and has worked in the Asia Pacific Region for more than 20 years. His work in Bangladesh led to the establishment of the Chair of Clinical Ophthalmology in the University of Chittagong, building an eye hospital and training complex and developing a program to train eye doctors and paramedics for eight base hospitals throughout Bangladesh. He has also helped develop ophthalmic training programs in Sri Lanka, India, China, Papua New Guinea, East Timor, Solomon Islands and Eye Banks in China and Vietnam.

In November 2003, he was awarded the International Blindness Prevention Award by the American Academy of Ophthalmology. He is an Officer of the Order of Australia and was the first recipient of the Weary Dunlop Asia Medal "for selfless leadership in the service of both his profession and his country". In 1995, he was made a Life Governor of the Lions NSW—ACT Save Sight Foundation and is an Honorary Lion.

Receiptent	Club	District	
Professor Frank Billson	Presented by Foundations		
PCC E Kidd	District N5	N5	
PDG Paul Logue	District N3	N3	
Lion Robert Finley	District N3	N3	
Shun Wah Hui	Sydney Pacific	N5	
Lion Monica Chu	Sydney Pacific	N5	
Lion Greg Dunn	Presented by Foundations	N5	
Lion Warren Tye	Winston Hills	N5	
Lions Club of Mosman Members	PDG John Sim	N5	
Linda Evans	Ulladulla	N2	
June Field	Bowning & Districts	N2	
PDG David Tuckerman OAM	Presented by Foundations	N5	
Michael Hollott	Ulladulla Milton	N2	
Margaret Grierson	Sydney Baseball	N2	
Steve Tickle	Sydney Baseball	N2	
Anton Begovic	Hurstville	N2	
Jim Field OAM	Presented by Foundation	N2	
Roy Wright	Liverpool	N2	
Frank Sergi	Griffith	N4	
Ross Catanzariti	Griffith	N4	
Beluh Chaapman	Sydney Baseball	N2	
Chris Chapman	Sydney Baseball	N2	
Ann Tosch	Wakefield Fairfield	N2	
PDG Kerry Williams	Griffith	N4	
	ReceiptentProfessor Frank BillsonPCC E KiddPDG Paul LogueLion Robert FinleyShun Wah HuiLion Monica ChuLion Greg DunnLion Warren TyeLions Club of Mosman MembersJune FieldPDG David Tuckerman OAMMichael HollottMargaret GriersonSteve TickleAnton BegovicJim Field OAMRoy WrightFrank SergiRoss CatanzaritiBeluh ChaapmanChris ChapmanAnn Tosch	ReceiptentClubProfessor Frank BillsonPresented by FoundationsPCC E KiddDistrict N5PDG Paul LogueDistrict N3Lion Robert FinleyDistrict N3Shun Wah HuiSydney PacificLion Monica ChuSydney PacificLion Greg DunnPresented by FoundationsLions Club of Mosman MembersPDG John SimLinda EvansPDG John SimJune FieldBowning & DistrictsPDG David Tuckerman OAMPresented by FoundationsMichael HollottUlladulla MiltonMargaret GriersonSydney BaseballAnton BegovicHurstvilleJim Field OAMPresented by FoundationRoss CatanzaritiGriffithBeluh ChaapmanSydney BaseballChris ChapmanSydney BaseballAnt ToschWinstrield Fairfield	

## RECIPIENTS OF PROFESSOR FRANK BILLSON PLATINUM HONOUR AWARD

25	PDG Ruth Small	Presented by Foundation	N2
26	PDG Sandra Treble	Presented by Foundation	N4
27	PDG Phil Bower	Presented by Foundation	N1
28	Club Urunga	Urunga	N1
29	Greald Billing	Port Macquarie	N1
30	Raymond Chester	Port Macquarie	N1
31	Bruce Lawrence Thompson	Port Macquarie	N1
32	PDG Richard Leonard	Foundation	N4